Switch Language

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions - 8GRF

Here you find the answers to the most asked questions about the GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL
We’ve compiled all important questions and answers about the GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL for you. Everything you need to know about samples, opening hours, directions, tastings, seminars and master classes can be found here!

What is included in the ticket price?

You can expect a diverse schedule at the German Rum Festival: more than 60 exhibitors with 400+ bottles of rum, rhum and cachaça, fine cigars in the smokers’ lounge, and savory delicacies at the food court. Here’s a small summary of what we have in store for you at the 8GRF:

  • An exclusive 8GRF tasting glass by Stölzle – ideal for sampling spirits
  • More than 400 different kinds of rum, rhum and cachaça – so you can put that glass to good use!
  • The glorious seven – a total of seven free samples are included, chosen by organizer and German Rum Ambassador Dirk Becker
  • Like every year, several different new products will make their European or even world debut – however, we have to keep them secret for now!
  • First-hand information from producers, distillers and master blenders at more than 60 stands – where you’ll find out a few secrets
  • 25 different seminars, tastings and master classes lead by national and international experts (more about this in the next item)
  • Generous catering for everyone’s taste at our food court
  • A separate smokers’ lounge where lovers of fine cigars can find the perfect accompaniment to rum in a relaxed atmosphere
  • Internationally awarded barkeepers who will demonstrate at our “Bar@Home“ how easy it is to create the perfect cocktail with your favorite rum… without having to turn your house upside down
  • You’ll have the opportunity to sample all participating and winning products of the German Rum Awards. These are tasted and rated by an international jury during the days leading up to the 8GRF
  • For 2018, there will be another exclusive German Rum Festival bottling: a single barrel straight from the producer, from which you can fill your own, personal bottle. What exactly this will be? We can’t tell you for now, but it’ll be a surprise
  • For those of you who want to take their favorite rum home right away, the Rum Depot Berlin will once again set up a generous festival shop. As usual, one or more will be available at a special festival price
  • Last, but certainly not least: the German Rum Festival provides a very laidback and mellow atmosphere – not the usual hectic trade fair rush! The perfect foundation for an unforgettable weekend!

When and where is the German Rum Festival taking place?

The 8th GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL is once again at STATION Berlin. Just like last year, we’ll be using the large, light-flooded Halle 3 to introduce you to the world of rum in a relaxed atmosphere!

 

Opening hours:

Saturday, October 13, 2018, 12:00 to 9:00 PM

Sunday, October 14, 2018, 12:00 to 7:00 PM

 

Location:

GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL

STATION Berlin

Luckenwalder Straße 4-6

10963 Berlin Kreuzberg

 

Directions:

The best way to reach the event location is with public transportation. The subway stop Gleisdreieck is only 2 minutes walking distance and can be reached with both the U1 and U2 subway lines. If you absolutely need to take your car, you may park safely in the garage at Gleisdreieck. The entrance is through Schöneberger Straße.

Do I have to pay for rum samples?

Each visitor receives their very own tasting glass, as well as a total of seven coupons for free samples at various stands, hand-selected by organizer and German Rum Ambassador Dirk Becker. Any additional sample has to be paid for at the respective stand. The exhibitors are encouraged to sell their samples at appropriate prices, so as not to ruin your planned vacation or your Christmas shopping list.

Everything you need to know about tastings, seminars and master classes

For all of you eager to further expand your knowledge, we are once again offering seminars, tastings and master classes, all lead by experts in the field. In order to enjoy these undisturbed and to catch every last bit of information, we’ve created two separate tasting areas. We’ll also discuss various topics on stage. We’ll be using a special headphone system in order to shut out the hustle and bustle of the festival, so you can focus on all the exciting information.

In order for both visitors and speakers to be able to focus on the tastings, we have a small team working in the background that will provide everyone with clean glasses and fresh supplies of rum. The team will also ensure that the tastings aren’t overbooked, as there is a limited number of 60 seats per tasting room and topic.

The tickets can be received in two different ways. Option I: for the impatient among you, we will offer 50% of all available tickets in a separate online shop. This will add an extra charge of 5.00 € per ordered ticket, but it’ll guarantee you a seat in the tasting of your choice. You can find out about when and where exactly this presale will start on our Facebook page, or in our news section on this website!

If you’re feeling lucky, you can choose option II: the remaining tickets will be handed out at the info area of the German Rum Festival an hour before each tasting begins, without any extra charge. It’s important to act fast here – our experience has been that these highly popular tickets go pretty quickly.

The exact tasting plan and its various topics aren’t a 100% written in stone yet, but we will publish them as soon as possible. Please stay tuned!

Food & Drink!

We’ve learned over time that good rum isn’t the only important thing for a successful festival, which is why there is free tap water available at all times. We will also provide sustenance for the hungry – our food court has something to offer for everyone!

Is there a festival shop?

You’ve found your favorite rum and want to take it home right away? The Rum Depot Berlin can make that happen! Our longtime partner of the German Rum Festival will once again have its own shop, which will have (almost) all participating rums available. The knowledgeable team can advise and help you with any questions you might have! So, we’d like to take a moment and say “thank you” for the many years of support from the Rum Depot team!

May I bring children or pets to the German Rum Festival?

As a general rule, entrance to the festival is only for people 18 years of age or older. We take youth protection very seriously and would rather check your ID one too many times… after all, most rum lovers look younger than they actually are!

If you want to bring dogs or other pets to the festival, we would highly recommend not to do so. The festival is a lively event with many visitors, which mostly means unnecessary stress and excitement for your furry friend. Do them a favor and leave them to sleep on the couch or in their bed while you discover the world of liquid gold.

Can I return my ticket?

Unfortunately, tickets are not returnable. An ordered and paid for ticket can only be returned in absolutely exceptional cases. Please contact robert@germanrumfestival.com about this.
If we’ve left any questions unanswered, you can reach us through the contact form or via email to robert@germanrumfestival.com

Switch Language

FAQ ~ Frequently Asked Questions ~ 8GRF

Hier findet Ihr die Antworten auf die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen zum GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL!
Hier haben wir für euch alle wichtigen Fragen mit den passenden Antworten zum GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL zusammengefasst. Von den Proben über Öffnungszeiten und Anfahrt bis hin zu Tastings, Seminaren und Masterclasses findet ihr hier alle wichtigen Informationen!

Was ist im Ticketpreis enthalten?

Auf dem German Rum Festival erwartet euch ein vielfältiges Programm, angefangen bei mehr als 60 Ausstellern mit über 400 verschiedenen Abfüllungen Rum, Rhum und Cachaca bis hin zu feinsten Zigarren in der Smokers Lounge und herzhaften Köstlichkeiten im Foodcourt. Hier findet ihr eine kleine Übersicht, was es auf dem 8GRF alles für euch gibt:

  • Ein exklusives 8GRF-Verkostungsglas aus dem Hause Stölzle – Ideal zum Verkosten von Rum
  • Mehr als 400 verschiedene Sorten Rum, Rhum und Cachaca – damit das Glas auch seinen Zweck erfüllt!
  • Die glorreichen Sieben – insgesamt sieben kostenfreie Proben sind enthalten
  • Wie in jedem Jahr gibt es verschiedene Welt- und Europapremieren neuer Produkte – dazu dürfen wir aber noch nichts verraten!
  • Informationen aus erster Hand bekommt ihr von Herstellern, Destillateuren und Master Blendern an über 60 Ständen – da wird bestimmt das eine oder andere Geheimnis gelüftet
  • 25 verschiedene Seminare, Verkostungen und Masterclasses, geführt von nationalen und internationalen Experten (mehr dazu erfahrt ihr im nächsten Punkt)
  • Ein großzügiges Cateringangebot für jeden Geschmack erwartet euch in unserem Foodcourt
  • Die separate Smokers-Lounge bietet allen Freunden ausgewählter Zigarren genau die richtige Begleitung zum Rum in entspannter Atmosphäre
  • International ausgezeichnete Barkeeper zeigen euch an unserer „Bar@Home“ wie einfach ihr zu Hause euren Lieblingsrum zum perfekten Cocktail mixt, ohne dabei den ganzen Haushalt auf den Kopf zu stellen
  • Ihr habt die Möglichkeit alle Gewinner und Teilnehmer der German Rum Awards zu verkosten. Diese werden an den Tagen vor dem 8GRF durch eine internationale Jury verkostet und bewertet
  • 2018 wird es wieder eine exklusive German Rum Festival Abfüllung geben. Ein Einzelfass direkt vom Produzenten, aus dem Ihr euch selbst eure ganz persönliche Flasche abfüllen könnt. Was genau es gibt bleibt aber vorerst noch eine Überraschung
  • Für alle, die ihren Lieblingsrum gleich mitnehmen wollen baut das Rum Depot Berlin wieder einen großzügigen Festival-Shop auf – wie immer wird es auch den ein oder anderen speziellen Messepreis geben
  • Zu guter Letzt, aber nicht weniger wichtig: Das German Rum Festival bietet eine sehr familiäre und ruhige Atmosphäre, keinen hektischen Messealltag! Die perfekte Grundlage für ein unvergessliches Wochenende!

Wo und Wann findet das German Rum Festival statt?

Das 8. GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL findet wie gewohnt in der STATION Berlin statt. Auch in diesem Jahr nutzen wir die große, lichtdurchflutete Halle 3 um euch in entspannter Atmosphäre die Welt des Rums näher zu bringen!

 

Öffnungszeiten:

Samstag 13. Oktober 2018, 12 bis 21 Uhr

Sonntag 14. Oktober 2018, 12 bis 19 Uhr

 

Location:

GERMAN RUM FESTIVAL

STATION Berlin

Luckenwalder Straße 4-6

10963 Berlin Kreuzberg

 

Anfahrt:

Sie erreichen uns am besten mit den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Der U-Bahnhof Gleisdreieck liegt nur 2 Minuten Fußweg entfernt und bietet mit der U1 und U2 etliche Anbindungsmöglichkeiten. Wer nicht auf sein Auto verzichten kann, kann dieses im Parkhaus am Gleisdreieck sicher unterstellen. Die Zufahrt erfolgt über die Schöneberger Straße.

Muss ich für Rumproben bezahlen?

Jeder Besucher erhält zum Eintritt nicht nur sein ganz eigenes Verkostungsglas, sondern auch insgesamt sieben Gutscheine für kostenlose Proben an verschiedenen Ständen. Jede weitere Probe muss an den Ständen selbst bezahlt werden. Die Aussteller sind angehalten, die Proben zu angemessenen Preisen zu verkaufen, sodass das German Rum Festival nicht den geplanten Urlaub oder die Einkaufsliste für die Weihnachtsgeschenke ruiniert.

Alles Wissenswerte über Tastings, Seminare und Mastercalsses

Für alle Wissensdurstigen unter euch gibt es auch 2018 wieder verschiedene von Experten geführte Seminare, Tastings und Masterclasses. Damit ihr diese ungestört genießen könnt und alle Informationen auch mitbekommt, haben wir zwei separate Tastingbereiche eingerichtet. Und auch vor der Bühne wird es verschiedene Themen zu besprechen geben. Dort haben wir ein spezielles Kopfhörer-System für euch im Einsatz, damit der Troubel des Festivals im Zweifel keine spannenden Informationen verschluckt.

Damit sich auch jeder Besucher und Redner auf die Tastings konzentrieren kann, arbeitet im Hintergrund ein kleines Team unserer Mitarbeiter stetig daran, euch mit frischen Gläsern und Rum zu versorgen. Diese sorgen auch dafür, dass die Tastings nicht überfüllt sind, denn es gibt nur eine limitierte Anzahl von 60 Plätzen pro Tastingraum und -thema.

Die passenden Eintrittskarten bekommt ihr über zwei verschiedene Varianten. Variante I: Für die ungeduldigen unter euch werden wir 50% des Ticketkontingentes bereits vorab in einem separaten Onlineshop zur Buchung bereitstellen. Dabei fallen Kosten in Höhe von 5,00 € pro bestelltem Ticket an. Dafür habt ihr aber auch einen garantierten Sitzplatz im Tasting eurer Wahl. Wann und wo genau der Vorverkauf startet, erfahrt ihr auf unserer Facebookseite oder im News-Bereich!

Wer lieber auf sein Glück vertraut, kann auch Variante II wählen: Das restliche Kontingent wird am Info-Bereich des German Rum Festival jeweils eine Stunde vor Tastingbeginn kostenlos ausgegeben. Dabei lohnt es sich schnell zu sein, die begehrten Karten sind erfahrungsgemäß schnell vergriffen.

Der genaue Tastingplan und die dazugehörigen Themen stehen noch nicht zu 100 Prozent fest, werden aber sobald wie möglich veröffentlicht. Stay tuned!

Essen & Trinken!

Wir wissen aus Erfahrung, dass es nicht nur guten Rum für ein gelungenes Festival braucht. Deshalb ist die kostenlose Versorgung mit Trinkwasser ständig gewährleistet. Und auch für das leibliche Wohl ist reichlich gesorgt, in unserem Foodcourt findet sich für jeden Geschmack die passende Grundlage!

Gibt es einen Messeshop?

Ihr habt euren Lieblingsrum gefunden und wollt ihn am besten gleich mitnehmen? Das Rum Depot Berlin bietet euch die passende Gelegenheit! Als langjähriger Partner des German Rum Festival wird auch 2018 ein ganz eigener Messeshop mit (fast) allen ausgestellten Rumsorten aufgebaut. Das fachkundige Team steht euch mit Rat und Tat zur Seite und hilft euch gerne weiter! Wir sagen an dieser Stelle schon mal Danke für die langjährige Unterstützung an das Team des Rum Depot!

Darf ich mein Kind oder mein Haustier mit zum German Rum Festival bringen?

Grundsätzlich ist der Zutritt zur Messe nur Personen über 18 Jahren gestattet. Wir nehmen den Jugenschutz sehr ernst und werden im Zweifel lieber einmal zu viel euren Ausweis kontrollieren, die meisten Rumliebhaber sehen ja doch jünger aus als sie sind!

Wenn Ihr Hunde oder andere Haustiere mit zum German Rum Festival bringen wollt, können wir euch nur davon abraten. Erfahrungsgemäß ist das Festival sehr gut besucht, und das bedeutet für die Kleinen meist enormen Stress und Aufregung. Tut ihnen den Gefallen und lasst sie in Ruhe auf dem Sofa oder im Körbchen zu Hause schlummern während Ihr die Welt des flüssigen Goldes erkundet.

Kann ich mein Ticket zurückgeben?

Leider ist jedes Ticket vom Umtausch ausgeschlossen. Einmal bestellte und bezahlte Tickets können nur in absoluten Ausnahmefällen zurückgegeben werden. Kontaktiert uns hierfür bitte unter robert@germanrumfestival.com
Sollten noch Fragen unbeantwortet bleiben, erreicht ihr uns über das Kontaktformular oder per Mail unter robert@germanrumfestival.com